I Am Not Myself

Bills.Pay(Developer.Skills).ShouldBeTrue()

DasBlog and Hosted Websites

DasBlog provides systems to email daily roll up reports to you as well as an
email your blog feature.

Currently I am unable to get these to work as
they fail permissions checks. The errors returned
are:

System.Security.SecurityException: Request for the permission of
type ‘System.Net.Mail.SmtpPermission’
System.Security.SecurityException:
Request for the permission of type ‘System.Net.SocketPermission’

Any way
I can get around these issues with my hosted site? Or am I pretty much SOL? This
is actually the second such problem I have had in my hosted environment. The
host provider has their system pretty locked down and I have no direct access to
IIS. They are pretty friendly and happy to help, but I don’t know if their
security policy will allow me to get around this one.

UPDATE: After doing a little research on this problem, I discovered that the web.config that comes with dasBlog sets trust to medium. This prevents all of the network related features from working. I removed the trust node and allowed my hosts config to to set my level and everything is fine now.

Leave a Reply

